Mmmm… delicious.

It was one of those “what do you want for dinner?” “I dunno, what do you want for dinner?” kind of days.  Actually… who am I kidding, every day is one of those days around here!  As per the usual, I plopped down on the couch, opened my laptop and started typing “what can I make with…” to find inspiration for this evening’s dinner.  Hmm, stuffed zucchini?  Nah, we just had that a week or two ago.  Hamburgers?  Always my default, but not working for me tonight.  Moroccan chicken?  Now that sounds fun, I haven’t tried that yet!  I printed a recipe, dutifully began chopping vegetables according to said recipe’s directions, and then about 3 ingredients in decided that following the recipe was way too boring.  Story. Of. My. Life. and the reason that I will never be a good baker.  I have the attention span of a 2 year old when it comes to following a recipe, and always end up tossing it aside and making it up as I go along.  It worked well for me tonight.  The other household member with a full set of teeth declared tonight’s dinner a win and one that should go on the menu often.  (The half-toothed one was already in bed after her delicious dinner of leftover taco meat and avocado. 😉 ).  This is the first recipe I have blogged, but I thought it would make it easier to pin, which in turn makes it easier to locate next time it is requested for dinner.  So, without further ado –

Moroccan Chicken with Roasted Vegetables!

Ingredients:

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1 tomato, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1 onion, cut into wedges

1 carrot, sliced

1 zucchini, cubed

2Tbsp + 2tsp Moroccan seasoning, divided (4tsp each)

Garlic

Olive Oil

Honey

Lemon Juice

1/4c chicken broth

2 chicken breasts

Recipe:

1. Chop vegetables and combine all but zucchini in a large bowl – set zucchini aside to be added later

2. Remove toddler from her perch on top of box

3. In a small bowl, combine 4tsp Moroccan seasoning (I used a pre-made seasoning from the store, but there are quite a few recipes to be found online if you prefer to make your own), 3 cloves garlic, 1 Tbsp olive oil, 2 Tbsp honey and 2Tbsp lemon juice.

4. Pick up tripping hazards that toddler has placed in obstacle-course fashion all around kitchen

5. Pour chicken broth and combined seasoning/oil mix over veggies and stir to coat

6. Fetch water for toddler and turn on favorite tv show

7. Spread vegetables into greased casserole dish or roasting pan

8. Remove toddler from the forbidden corner of everything magical (read – Daddy’s stuff)

9. Combine 4tsp Moroccan seasoning, 2Tbsp honey, 2 cloves garlic and 1Tbsp lemon juice in small bowl.  This will be spread on chicken – add olive oil a little at a time until you have enough of the mixture to cover both chicken breasts

10. Give toddler bike helmet in exchange for cookie sheets and pizza pans strewn all over floor

11. Spread seasoning/oil mixture over both sides of chicken and place on top of vegetables in casserole dish

12. Move toddler to safe zone so that oven can be opened

13. Bake covered at 425 degrees for 40min (and pick up those pans while you’re at it)

14. Bathe toddler

15. Stir in zucchini (I took the chicken out, stirred zucchini into vegetables and then put the chicken back on top) and bake for another 20min or until chicken is done.

16. Put toddler to bed

17. Serve with couscous and avocado

Voila!  Deliciousness!

Moroccan Chicken

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.